Welcome!

Welcome!  If you’re reading this blog there’s probably one of two reasons why you’re here. 

#1: You’re related to me and therefore are obligated. 

#2.  You’re looking to make a positive health change in your life. 

I’m okay with either reason you’re here, and I hope you’ll feel your time has benefitted from visiting this site.

For those of you not here by obligation, let me start by telling you a little about this blog and what it means to me.   I am 37 years old, married, and a mother of four children (2 boys, 2 girls) ranging in age from fifteen down to six.  I began a regular running routine in August of 2010 just to complete a 5K.  In December of 2011, I ran my first marathon.

In high school, I was a mediocre, half-hearted long-distance track and cross-country runner.  I started running in junior high where my dad was the head coach.  When you live in a small town (especially if your dad is the coach), you have to do something.  I wasn’t fast, so I ran the long distance events.  I never won a race, and over the next few years, my times became progressively slower.  At the beginning of my senior year, I had a heart to heart with my first “coach” and dropped athletics from my schedule.  

Fast forward twenty-something years later.  I have run several 5K races, a few 10Ks, four half-marathons, and the big one – a full marathon.  I enjoy running, and I am faster than I was in high school. But enough of my bio, this site is not about me. 

Early in the spring of 2010, my dad was regularly walking 30 minutes a day on the treadmill for weight loss.  One day when I was visiting, I casually mentioned that he could kick up the calorie burn by adding a few minutes of running.  He did, and in June, at the age of 61, my dad ran his first 5K.  He didn’t stop there, and six months later he’s still running.  I’m proud of my dad.  This determination has enabled him to do something he might not have tried otherwise.

My dad has shown me the power of encouragement and motivation.  I want this site to be just that. 

A little nudge.

With the right motive, a little time, and a goal, it’s possible.

Anyone can run.

What do you think?

