Why should I run?

The second “W” of running:  

Why should I run?”

  • Because I want to lose weight.

If weight loss is your plan, know this:  running can burn some major calories.  The actual amount of calories burned varies depending on your height, weight, and how fast you run.  For example, a 150 pound runner who puts in a ten minute mile can burn about a hundred calories.  That’s 300 calories in thirty minutes!  You can’t get that burn rate on a stationary bike.

  • Because I want to be fit! 

If you already exercise and want to improve your fitness, add in a couple of runs each week to work different muscle groups

  • Because I want to reach a goal. 

If you want to say you’ve run a 5K, the feeling of accomplishing this goal will motivate you forward.  Other areas of your life will benefit.

  • Because I need to get moving. 

I think everyone knows a sedentary lifestyle is not great for your health, but there are days it’s hard to get motivated to move.  Running will improve your energy levels.

  • Because I need a stress outlet.  

I can personally attest to running as a stress management tool.  I was a smoker in my twenties. (Yeah, I heard those gasps.  Some of you just thought you knew me well.)  In the past year, I had some stressful situations.  Had I been a smoker, I would’ve reached for a cigarette and chain-smoked my way through it.  Instead, I put on my shoes and went for a run.  I jokingly once told someone that if it wasn’t for running, I’d be drinking and smoking.  Now I’ll admit there are some days when I want to keep running (away), but I always come back.   

These reasons seem to be some of the most popular for why someone starts running.  If you want to lose weight, improve fitness, accomplish a goal, be less sedentary, or manage stress better, running can be the key.  But the reasons for running are as unique and individual as you are.

Take a few minutes, and think of your “why” for wanting to run.

What do you think?

