Thoughts from the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon

 I don’t want this post to be interpreted as “You should run a marathon.”  Make no mistake about it, I know running a marathon is not for everybody.  It has taken me almost two years to get to where I am in my running goals.  But I would like to take a few minutes to reflect on last Sunday’s race.  I will say that if you’ve never had the chance to cheer on a runner in a race, I hope you will be able to find a time to do that.  For every race I have completed (any distance), I am grateful for the spectators who cheer for runners they don’t even know.  When the race has your name printed on the bib, and a stranger calls out your name to encourage you, it’s a great feeling.

Here are a few of the random thoughts that popped in my head during and after the marathon in Oklahoma City.  

Mile 1:  I passed the Air Force staff sergeant in full uniform walking up a hill with his pack full of 168 pounds.  There were also two groups of firefighters walking in full gear.  Wow!  

Mile 10:  Rain.  Marathon, we have got to stop meeting this way.

Mile 11:  The 11th mile feels like forever.  I even pass the 12 mile marker, and it takes me a few minutes to realize my Garmin is stopped at 11.3 miles.  No wonder the 11th mile feels so long!  I restart my timer and the rest of the race, I wear myself out mentally trying to figure my lost time.  

Mile 14:  Running next to the lake – beautiful.

Mile 16:  Ugh, I feel like I’m going to throw up!

Mile 21:  I think I have my 2nd wind. Nope, it was just a slight breeze.

Mile 23:  I’ve decided that the people who say the last 6 miles is just mental – well, they are mental.   I physically can’t move my legs any faster.

Miles 24-25:  I again pass the Air Force staff sergeant and one group of the firefighters (24-25).  Emotional.      

Mile 26:   Almost done. I try to speed up, because I want to be finished.  Every step hurts, hurts, hurts.

Finish line! I hear my name called out (advantage of not running in a pack).  Yes, I’m done!  

Post race:  I’m so glad to see my husband who keeps me upright.  Thirty minutes later, I’m finally able to eat a banana and the nauseous feeling since mile 16 is gone.  I am content with my time (4:32:11)considering the temperature and humidity factors.  I probably could’ve gone under 4:30, but darn the porta potty stop at mile 12.

It was a great course, and I will put the Oklahoma City National Memorial Marathon on my must do race list for next year.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts from the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon

What do you think?

