Making Adjustments

Back in March, I wrote about finding a date and race that interests you.  I was planning a five mile run in Dallas just because it was something different.  I usually like to plan races well in advance to get the discounted early registration, but this time I put it off.

I’m glad I did.

My legs were not as sore as they were after my first marathon, but I’m easing back into my routine and speed.  I haven’t run farther than four miles since April 29th.  Due to circumstances in our family, the last two weeks have been hectic so I decided to run a 5K tomorrow that’s closer to home.  There are three reasons I’m looking forward to it:

1.  It will still be breakfast time when I finish running.

2.  If I go out too fast, it’s okay.  It will soon be over.

3.  It is only 20 minutes from my house, so I’ll be back home before my teenage son rolls out of bed.

Today’s lesson: 

It is okay to look at what is going on in your life and change plans.

What do you think?

