Running Streak

Some of you are already running.  Some of you want to run, but haven’t found a good time to start. Some of you have considered running at one time or another. The rest of you just think anyone who runs is crazy, but thank you for reading anyway.

No matter which category you fall under – yes, even the last one – I’d like for you to consider the challenge of a running streak. It’s very simple and may just give you the focus you’re looking for.   

I’m embarking on this challenge from Runner’s World to give me a goal that doesn’t coincide with a training plan.  I have a few months before I start training for my next marathon, so I need something to focus on.  Here is the link with the official run streak details from Runner’s World:  http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-267-269-14350-0,00.html  The gist is this: run at least one mile a day every day from Memorial Day to July 4th. See?  How simple is that?  You can even walk to get that mile in!

I’m going to kick off my running streak with a 10K Memorial Day race in McKinney.  I’ll be the one in the Navy shirt. 

How will you start your streak?  You can post your ideas and progress in the comments.

What do you think?

