Finding Inspiration From Others’ Success

Yesterday, a friend of mine became an Ironman.  What a huge accomplishment!  The thought of swimming 2.4 miles, biking 112 miles, and then running 26.2 blows my mind.  Just running a marathon is a big deal to me, and I my mind can’t process the other two sports.  I’m proud of my week if I manage to spend an hour on my stationary bike for cross training.

But back to my friend.  This is a goal she has been working a year to complete.  We keep up with each other’s training, so I know how time consuming it has been.  She is a mom of three.  She sometimes coaches their sports, and she works outside of the home.  I can’t imagine what it must have felt like to cross that finish line.

I am so proud of what she has done with her goals, but I could make myself feel inferior with what I have accomplished in my goals.  I only run, after all.  But you know what?  Those are my goals.  I am sure there are people who could feel the same way if they compared their running to someone else’s.

I have different background and future plans.  There are other factors that affect my training.  I’m glad to participate in an individual sport.  Emphasis on individual.  My friend’s accomplishment has inspired me to push hard in my own goals.  As it should.

You can do that too.  No matter what your goals are, even if just to get up and move off of the couch, go for a walk, or lose a few pounds.  Let someone’s achievement be the motivation to move you.

Final thought:  Who has inspired you to move lately?

 

 

One thought on “Finding Inspiration From Others’ Success

What do you think?

