A Hot Half

I ran a half marathon this past Sunday. Yes, I know it’s August, yes I do live in Texas, and no, I’m not crazy.

Well, maybe just a little bit.

The summer temperatures have been high, but not nearly as bad as last year, and I have been steadily building up my mileage over the summer. I felt prepared for the race, and I wasn’t nervous about running in the heat. I ran my last half marathon in June, and it was warm too.

So I went into this race planning to run for fitness as part of a challenge I entered with Mellew Productions. The challenge is to run a half marathon each season. I began mine in January and will finish in October. I didn’t set a specific time goal, but I was shooting for a range (2:05-2:15).

But Sunday wasn’t nearly as hot as anticipated. Thankfully, we had great cloud cover for most of the race. The sun peeked out a few times, but I was through mile 11 before the clouds moved out. I was pleased with my pace for the first 9 miles, but the last four slipped away from me.

Overall, my time of 2:09:00 was about a minute per mile slower than my PR, but for an August run in Texas, I’m okay with that.

Usually in the week following a race, I analyze my race. I problem solve where I struggled, but I don’t beat myself up about it. I think I could have pulled a faster last four miles, but no way could I have beaten my PR from January. This morning, as I tried in vain to reach my 10K pace in a tempo run, I wondered if the miles I’ve been piling on this summer affected my speed. Was that why I slowed toward the end of Sunday’s race? Maybe. Or maybe the heat is harder on me than I think it is.

But the best part of my post race analysis is the excitement I get from planning the next race.  Whether it is a 5K, 10K, a half, or full marathon, I’m ready!

Am I alone in this?  How do you analyze your races?

 

 

What do you think?

