My Answers to 10 Running Questions

I know I’m throwing a curve ball by posting more than once in the same week, but as a mother runner, I had to jump in on this one. In response to a post on Another Mother Runner, I’ve jumped in with my get-to-know-me better post for 10 Running Questions.

1. Best run ever: In January, I made my first solid attempt to break two hours in the half. I held back in the first seven miles, then ran negative splits. It was the first race I ran a faster second half, and I ended up with an 8:30 pace for the final mile! My time – 1:59:58.

2. Three words that describe my running: Structured, purposeful, intentional

3. My go-to running outfit is: New Balance shoes, Nike shorts, and any tech top I have that is clean and fits. In the summer, I always don a hat and sunglasses.

4. Quirky habit while running: This mother of four never ventures too far from a restroom during training runs, but on race days, I make enough stops beforehand (you know, get right back in line), that way I’m good through the race and even a few hours after.

5. Morning, midday, evening: I always run in the morning after I drop the kids off at school. On the weekends, I try to start before anyone else gets out of bed. It helps with my eating throughout the day if I’ve already burned off my breakfast.

6. I won’t run outside when it’s: a drenching rain. It’s about the only time I use the treadmill at the gym. I also don’t run if it’s icy, but in Texas I don’t have to worry about that too often.

7. Worst injury – and how I got over it: Dare I say it? In two years of running, I haven’t been injured yet.

8. I felt most like a bad mother runner when: I finished my first marathon (where it poured down rainΒ the entire time, was around 40 degrees, and North wind blowing about 15-20 mph). Even though I was proud of getting through it, the picture of me right after the race looks pretty rough.

9. Next race is: Tyler Rose half marathon on October 7th, which will prep me for the Dallas Marathon December 9th.

10. Potential running goal for 2013: Break four hours for the marathon. I want to qualify for Boston in the next two years. There, I said it. Now you can hold me to it.

Now that you know a little more about me, let me hear from you. What would your ten answers be?

What do you think?

