Running Goals for 2013

Do you set any goals with your running? I would like to encourage you to do so, no matter what level of running you pursue. It is a good way to measure progress and increase motivation.

In 2011, I celebrated my first full year as a runner. At the end of the year, I decided to set some specific running goals for 2012. I wanted to run a sub 2:00 half, set a new PR in the marathon, add strength training, and eat better as a runner. The time goals I met (thankful for the OKC marathon in April which set my PR, because it sure wasn’t Dallas this year). The latter two I met about 50% of the time. I used this progress to set my goals for this year.

These are the goals I set for 2013:

1. Run 2000 miles (or more) In 2011, I ran over 1000 and in 2012, just over 1500. I think 2000 is the next logical step without increasing risk of injury.

2. New PR in the half marathon (goal 1:55:00) This is a pretty big jump in time from my PR of 1:59:27, but that was on a hilly course in the midst of marathon training – with no taper. The pace is not impossible for me, I just need to push myself more.

3. New PR in the marathon (sub 4:10)Ā I was hoping this would be the year I could set a sub 4:00 goal, but I need to be realistic with this one. I need more practice running 26.2 to get there.

4. Focus on nutritionĀ This year I will not set a weight goal, but I will eat like a runner who wants to be faster. This means eating more runner foods that my kids will turn their noses up, and relying less on convenience.

5. Strength training two times a weekĀ Another goal that will help me goals two and three. In the past two weeks, I have made this a priority by working on my core two times a week and arms at least once a week. I can tell a difference, and I want to continue this.

I also have my race calendar ready for the first half of the year, but I need to find a few 5 and 10ks to add:

2/03/13 Texas Half (Irving)

2/24/13 Cowtown Marathon (Fort Worth)

3/24/14 Rock N Roll Half (Dallas)

4/14/13 Big D half marathon (Dallas)

4/28/13 Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon

Have you set any goals or planned out any races? If you haven’t started running yet, what’s holding you back?

I’m looking forward to a great year, and I hope you are too!

2 thoughts on “Running Goals for 2013

What do you think?

