Support and Encouragement with Running

I feel fortunate as a runner to have the encouragement and support of my family, friends, and other runners.

I usually run alone and up until nine months ago, I could count on one hand how many times I had gone for a run with someone else. It was then I discovered our local running group. Occasional Saturday morning long runs have been pounded out while chatting alongside another runner. But most of the time, I still train alone due to the sheer difficulty of my schedule as a working mom of four.

I am grateful to have the support I do at home. I hope you’ll indulge me as I brag on my family. My husband – who was in the military for over ten years and wouldn’t voluntarily run a mile now – is my biggest fan. He has accompanied me to many races, getting out of bed as early as 3:30 on a Sunday morning to avoid traffic. He is my gear bag check, and has waited as long as five hours for me to finish a race. He endures the mile by mile race recap which could be full of excitement from nailing a PR or whining about falling apart in the heat and humidity. He doesn’t complain. Most of all he understands the need for me to run and encourages my continued progress as a runner.

 

My four children each have their own way of supporting me. I have come home from races to find the front porch decorated with phrases like “Run, Mommy, Run” in sidewalk chalk. My youngest always asks, “Did you win?” My teenagers ask, “How was your run?” after most of my weekly training runs.

 

I have good friends who don’t run, and think I’m a little crazy. I’m okay with that. I have friends who do run and we can share the mile by mile recap with. On Facebook, our local running group does a great job of encouraging each other through the everyday ups and downs of injury, milestones, and PRs.

 

I know this is not the case for all runners, and I write this so I can focus on the positives. These are the ideas I carry with me when training is tough, when I’m on my own during a race, or when seasons of life challenge my mentality.

What type of support do you have as a runner? Family? Friends? Other runners?

 

 

 

One thought on “Support and Encouragement with Running

What do you think?

