Heroes of Midlothian 5K

I’m a little behind in posting my recap from last Saturday’s 5K, but it was a busy week for me. As a country, while we pause to remember those who have served and lost their lives, it seems an appropriate day to share about the Heroes of Midlothian foundation.

I am a member of the Midlothian class of 1992. I was a classmate of Chris Kyle. Some of you may have heard of him or read his book, American Sniper. As a former Navy Seal, Chris was well-known in the military community and soon became known throughout local communities as well. When he was killed in February along with another resident of Midlothian, several of my classmates took action to honor their memory.

The Heroes of Midlothian Foundation was the result. This event on May 18, 2013 included a 5K run and benefit festival. While distance and scheduling kept me from participating in the planning or setup, I wanted to be a part of it. As a runner, I’m always up for a race, but I wanted to do more. So I signed up my 16 year-old son as a volunteer.

He enjoyed being a part of it and helping out where needed. Of course, what teenage boy wouldn’t enjoy free donuts and cinnamon rolls?

It was nice to see old friends, and I was impressed with the professionalism of the organization. With an inaugural race, you never know what to expect but this race was well executed. Over 500 runners registered, with 471 who started and finished the race. Along the straightaway near the finish line, one of my friends from was passing out small flags for the runners to carry through. It was an emotional event.

The perks:

Age group awards were awesome. I ran a PR, and my dad ran his second fastest time. I was in my hometown among many friends.

Me and My Dad

Me and My Dad

2nd in Age Group 35-39

2nd in Age Group 35-39

 

The downside:

I forgot how much it can hurt to run 3 miles all out. My pacing was off with each mile getting slower. I need to work on my quick turnover.

I’m glad I was able to participate in this event, and it will be on my schedule for next year. I’d like to see a fun run for those who think a 5K is too long. That would be a great way to increase funds raised.

I’m thankful for those who have served in our armed forces, including my husband who was in the Navy for over 10 years. As we celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary today, I am grateful to have him by my side.

In my next post, I’ll write about today’s run which was for the Wounded Warrior Project.

2 thoughts on “Heroes of Midlothian 5K

What do you think?

