Runner Down!

Last year, I tried to participate in the Runner’s World Run Streak from Memorial Day to Independence Day. Run at least one mile a day – every day. A major afternoon rainstorm that hit on National Running Day ended that streak. I ran seven days straight. This year I tried again. I made it eight days, then I was sidelined.

Monday morning I ran an easy paced four miles with the intention of picking up a few more in the evening with my little 5K trainers (a.k.a. my kiddos). After dropping the kids at school, I went back home to make use of the hour I had before work. I wanted to pack a couple of boxes since we have a move coming up this month, and I started with the cabinet above the refrigerator.

This involved me standing on a chair (wearing flip-flops) to kneel on the counter to reach what was in the cabinet. Let’s just say it was not one of my brighter moments. I missed my step coming back down to the chair and hit the floor. ย Oh, no! Runner down! I rolled my ankle and broke one of the ceramic pieces in my hands. I don’t know if I cried more out of pain or because I knew I was out of running for a while. I’ve sprained my ankle before and it took months to get my ankle back to normal. But that time I heard a “pop.” Thankfully, notย this time.

The hardest advice to follow is your own. I would tell others to make sure to take time to recover to avoid risking further injury. I did what I needed to: RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevate), but I had trouble with the R and the E, and the I too. Compression was easier. I endured a scolding from my husband for not going to the doctor, but ย I could put weight on it. It’s a risk I took.

I’ll spare you the lovely photos of the bruising I sent him throughout the week.

I spent a few hours on my stationary bike, which helped my stress levels, but by Saturday I was itching to try it out. I went for a walk, broke into a slow jog, and walked some more. 2 miles in 30 minutes. That evening I iced it and Sunday morning it actually felt better. As much as I wanted to run again, I talked myself into just getting on the bike. I don’t want to push my luck.

I am confident that I will be able to run – slowly – this week, but no speedwork and not my usual mileage. I’m registered to run a half marathon at the end of the month with my brother. It will be his first. I don’t , and I want to be there running with him.

In the past year I have lost a toenail (due to a head-on collision with my son’s skate shoe), bruised a toe the week of a marathon (due to slamming a door on it), and sprained an ankle (packing to move). But I have not been injured due to running.

What advice do you give other runners, but have trouble following on your own?

Has an injury sidelined you from running? Was it due to running or something else?

3 thoughts on “Runner Down!

What do you think?

