The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: Saturday’s Long Run

I haven’t spent much time posting about my marathon training, partly because I don’t want to burn you out. My marathon race season includes Dallas in December, Houston in January, Cowtown in February, and Oklahoma City in April.

I know. Crazy, right?

Another reason I haven’t posted much about my training is because the volume has been testing my confidence . I have hit higher mileage than ever before, and my weekday runs have been pretty lengthy too. My goals – on a marathon level – kind of scare me. I don’t know how my body will respond to all these marathons, but I know that there’s only one way to find out.

For the most part, my training has been going well. I’ve had a few runs where I was tired, couldn’t quite hit my pace, or felt unmotivated. This is normal for a training cycle, so I wasn’t too surprised when Saturday’s run was a wash.

I didn’t feel good when I woke up, which was probably due to concession stand nachos and Twizzlers from the football game the night before. I also ate way more refined carbs than usual for dinner on Friday. I was tired from sitting at the game all night, and only got about five hours of sleep. On a positive note, football season is over so I get my Friday nights back.

I had my second (and last) 20-miler on the schedule, but after the second mile (and first pit stop) I talked myself down to 18. I decided to put 20 on this week’s plan instead of the scheduled 17, and just go with it. Then I have three weeks to taper, and it will be fine.

My pace continued to slow throughout the run, but I slogged through the 18 miles anyway. I figure if I can manage it when I feel terrible, then I’ll be better able to handle the tough moments in races. After looking at my time and comparing my running log, I noted that I ran 19 earlier in the season that was three minutes faster than my 18.

IMG_4053

I did make it a point to enjoy one aspect of my run though. I love seeing the leaves actually fall from the trees on a breezy day. The orange, red, and yellow leaves this time of year are beautiful in North Texas. I like to crunch through the piles of leaves on the streets. Fall is my favorite time of year to run.

 

How about you? What’s your favorite time of year?

What tips do you have to get through a tough long run?

 

What do you think?

