Let’s Not Talk About This

In order to avoid the topic that is weighing so heavy on runners’ minds right now, all I will say about the weather is that I’m over paying for races that I don’t run and I’m really over layering up my basic Texas gear to stay warm. I chose to stay home for the Texas Half (February 2nd) due to the impending chance of sleet and freezing rain. I didn’t want to stress about driving home in it while running. I think I was still in recovery mode from Houston though, and it was scheduled too soon to expect to run fast anyway. So I gave up my jacket and my race fee and squeezed a kinda sorta long run in at home before the sleet moved in.

At least I have a participant shirt from the Dallas Marathon to show for that race fee. It’s short sleeves, so I’ll get to wear it again eventually.

Since Houston, I’ve taken it easy on the mileage, listening to my body and getting to bed early (most days). I’ve been getting back to early morning running when the temperatures allow. Since I’ve [mostly] cut out Diet Coke, it’s been easier to get to bed and I feel rested. I’m still working on my attitude with my weight, and trying to cut back on the quantity. When you run 50 plus miles a week, it’s hard to adjust the eating habits back down. Unfortunately, the scale won’t adjust down either.

Saturday, I ran 16 miles – my longest since Houston. Then it was time to head home and clean house. We celebrated my youngest daughter’s birthday with a party and her friends. Eighty rowdy fifth grade girls. It was a good time, but I was wiped out by the end of the day. Eating junk didn’t help either. I’m such a sucker for sweets.

IMG_4352

 

She takes her wish-making seriously.

She takes her wish-making seriously.

So now it’s time to get back on track. I’m tapering for the Cowtown Marathon on February 23rd. Ready for sub 4:00:00!

What do you think?

