Cross Timbers Trail Run – 5 miler

I decided to do something I’ve only done once before.

I ran a trail race.

I was kind of nervous about doing it so close to Cowtown, (Ack! Is that this week already?) but I had a free registration from volunteering at the Lost Loop last fall. I am a cheap skate, and “free” is something I don’t usually pass on.

I went into it with the intention to take it easy and slow, have fun, and just enjoy the different scenery – and footwork.

I should know myself better than that.

Easy and slow were not adjectives I would use to describe my race.

I fell before the end of the first mile – landed smack down on my handheld water bottle. I guess that kind of cushioned the fall. I was glad I didn’t wear my good tights, because that’s where I wiped the dirt off of my other hand. I’ve never fallen during a race, although I did trip on a root during a training run once, and it was strange to bounce right back up and take off again.

IMG_4371I have to be honest here: there were a few times when I wondered “How the heck am I going to get up (or down from) here?” Tricky spots, steep uphills, and finding roots or trees to help me climb were just a few of the highlights. I stumbled a few more times, almost fell again, and at one point even sat down on a rock to scoot myself down a hill.

It was so much fun!

When I finished the Toughest Little Trail in Texas, I found out I was the second female to finish the 5 miler and 15th overall. Wow!

All 5-milers got a medal!

All 5-milers got a medal!

Other than my burning quads and aching upper body, oh, and the scratches on my leg, I feel pretty good about my race. I wonder how I could do if I actually trained on a trail once in a while. The hardest part for me was not checking my Garmin for my pace.

IMG_4374

On Sunday, I took a nice easy eight mile run to kick off my last long run before Cowtown. I intended on running 10-12, but since the trail was so tough I wanted to play it safe and not push my body. I want to go to the race on Sunday well rested and ready to break 4 hours.

Now, I want to know:

What do you think about trail running? Have you ever done a trail race?

 

One thought on “Cross Timbers Trail Run – 5 miler

What do you think?

