Don’t Miss the Running Moments

Two days after Cowtown, I was ready for a run. Just an easy shakeout run. Good for recovery and working out some soreness.

I also desperately needed some time to think, to process thoughts. A heavy decision was hanging around my head. Running is a way for me to break thoughts free – to make sense of things.

As soon as I got home with the kids after school, I put my running clothes on and caught my 11 year-old as I was heading out the door. “I’ll be back in about 20 minutes.”

“Oh, I want to go! Let me go change.”

Before I could say anything, she was down the hall in her room. I was a little disappointed – there goes my thinking time – but I will never turn my kids down if they want to run with me.

We made it all of four minutes before the first walk break, and turned around at five minutes. We stopped at the park, and she hit the swings while I ran loops around the playground equipment.

As we rounded the corner on our street she grabbed my hand. “I like running with you. When I grow up I want to run a marathon too. I want to be just like you.”

I looked at her flushed face and instantly knew why I needed to run that day. I would’ve missed that moment if I hadn’t.

 

What do you think?

