Stonebridge Memorial Day 10k

There’s something about kicking off a Monday with a race. Of course, that’s not what makes today special. Today is about remembering those who have lost their lives while protecting our freedom.

I enjoy the freedom I have in running down my street, or going to knock out speed work at the track, or head off to a race. I don’t want to take it for granted, ,and today I wanted to keep that focus during my race. I reminded myself to run for those who couldn’t.

IMG_4696

It was an overcast morning in North Texas, and it rained a little on and off before the start. There were some slick and muddy places to watch out for and the race director warned us ahead of time that the timing mat may be slick. “Slow down, it’s not worth getting hurt. Everyone gets a medal for finishing.”

With a break in the rain, we were off. I did wear my Garmin, and decided to track my mile splits. After the first mile, I kicked it up a notch. Somewhere between miles 2 and 3, the rain started again. I didn’t let that slow me down. I was struggling and I knew I wasn’t going to set a PR, but I took solace in the fact that I was able to mostly knock out some negative splits. I was able to pass a few runners, and only was passed by one that I remember – and she was the Master’s winner. My splits (according to my Garmin) were 8:25, 8:03, 7:59, 8:07 (water stop), 8:04, 8:01, and 7:35 for the last 0.2.

IMG_4697

My official finish was 50:44 which was enough for an age group win. I’d like to say I’m okay with my overall time, but that would be false. It’s hard to look at my time I ran last August – which was faster – and say well, that’s just fine. It doesn’t help that my weight loss isn’t going as planned either. So today I had my pity party, which mostly consisted of self-doubt and a few tears. That may seem silly, but I’m being real here. I’m thankful for a husband who can lift me up when I’m down on myself.

The hardest thing for me to understand though, and it really baffles me, is how I have only set my record times in the middle of high mileage training for a marathon. I set PRs in both the half and 5k back in March one month between two marathons. How does that happen?!?

Now it’s time for me to move on from my doubts and focus in on some speed. I’m looking for a few 5 and 10ks to run before my official marathon training starts. I’m not ready to give up on my dream.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Stonebridge Memorial Day 10k

  1. That’s the joy and sorrow of running, sometimes our bodies just don’t respond like we’d like them too. I’m in the same boat weight loss wise, I’m working out harder and eating better than I ever have and the scale won’t budge. My overall pace is starting to shift down so I’m thrilled about that, but keep getting hung up on the stupid scale. You still ran a great race, it will come in time!

    • We’ll hope the scale shifts with a big move. I have noticed changes in my body composition though and feel stronger. More on that in the next week or so…Keep up the good work.

What do you think?

