Might As Well Jump

On Saturday for our group run, I ran with a new to the group member. Our daughters have been friends for the past six years, so I knew her before either of us started running. She started running about two years ago with her first 5k. Following introductions to the other group members, I mentioned that she was planning her first half marathon. She was considering one for September but didn’t know if that was too soon. A nice group discussion ensued filled with assurance, encouragement, and advice.

We ran together for six miles chatting away about how running has changed us – for the better. It’s not always about speed or distance, but being reminded of the joy of running.

Seeing her excitement (and a little trepidation) took me back to the decision to register for my first marathon. My husband had to give me the last little push, because I didn’t feel “ready.”

Let’s set specific distances aside for just a moment.

Do you like to dream big? Do you have your sights set on a goal that sounds crazy to others? Do you want to run a long distance race? Is there something keeping you from taking that next step?

We don’t always feel “ready.” The decision feels huge, seemingly impossible, no matter the distance. Sometimes, though, we just have to jump.

So what does that long distance look like for you?

For some, it is a 5k (3.1 miles), and others a half marathon (13.1). Some may be even be considering making the jump to 26.2 for a marathon. Some just need that first step out the door.

My first run lasted 12 minutes almost four years ago. It’s all I could handle. Now running is a natural part of me.

It can happen. You can do it. Take that jump. Go on and register for that race already. Believe in yourself. If you need a push like I did, this is it. 🙂

Oh, and by the way, if you’re looking for a great half or full marathon, join me in Houston:  http://www.chevronhoustonmarathon.com. Lottery registration opens on Wednesday, June 4th. You can get the details here about registration, and see my race review from 2014 here. I’d love to see you there!

Wednesday, June 4th is also National Running Day. If you haven’t taken that first step to start yet, this would be a great day to do it! You might as well jump!

 

What do you think?

