Fireworks 5k and Streaking

After last week’s recovery with reduced mileage and intensity, I finished off my run streak with a 5k on Friday and a nice long run on Saturday. This was my first run streak to manage double digits and I kept going for 41 days. It was more for a change of pace that I kept the streak, and also to see if I could boost weight loss. I disliked the extra laundry, and I wanted to focus on cross-training more. Riding the bike and running in the same day was too much of a juggle. I’m glad I did the streak, but I was happy to end it too. I need to keep my joy with running, and it was starting to dampen.

My “summer of speed” is progressing along nicely as I continue to build strength and use speed work to push for new PRs. In August I will be moving into a new age group (and category) for the first time since I started running. The idea was to finish my age at my fastest. A great idea in theory, unless your birthday falls during the hottest part of the year. In Texas.

But I will not give up!

I ran my second 5k of the season on the 4th in McKinney. I have done this group’s 10k course (Memorial Day), but I didn’t know what to expect for the 5k. Apparently, a few hills. I decided to break the mental barrier and not look at my Garmin just like the Radio Run. This time I didn’t have the members of my running group ahead to gauge my speed by. I struggled mentally. The second mile had a pretty steep hill. I felt like I was walking up even though I knew I wasn’t. It wasn’t until the last half mile that I felt like I was cruising and closing in on other runners. The result was 16 seconds slower than May, and what felt like a long way away from my PR of 23:09. My time was 23:47 and 4th in my age group. I got beat by three 37 year olds. What’s funny is that if I had been in the next age group, I would’ve been first. You just never know.

Official time 23:47

Official time 23:47

I enjoyed going to the race with a friend of mine. We had a great time, and she placed 2nd in her age group! After going to races solo, it’s so much better to recount the miles with a friend. It also helps when they confirm that hill in the second mile really was a monster and yes, it was hot and humid.

IMG_4873

My next PR aim is Sunday’s Too Hot to Handle 15k. I’ve only run one other 15k (this one), so my chances of a PR are good. I will see what these legs can do!

Have a great week!

 

What do you think?

