Melon Dash 5k

I completed my final race of my “4 before 40” this past weekend – the Melon Dash 5k in McKinney.

We’ve been fortunate so far this summer – avoiding 100 plus degree days. When I stepped outside early Saturday morning to take the puppies out, I was chilled. It would be nice weather for a 5k. In August. In Texas.

IMG_4976

I went with a few other runners I know, and met up with a few more after.

Before the race

Before the race

Racing is more fun when you have others to share it with.

IMG_4980

It was a large 5k, with about 1100 runners not including the fun run. I moved closer to the front since this was my last race in my thirties. When I realized I was standing behind a guy in a kilt, I moved again. I was hoping to get a new PR with the cooler temps. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. I ended up running the exact same time as I did in May (23:31). I ran a consistent pace in the first two miles, then struggled from mile 2 – 2.5 where my pace was in the 8:00 range. I pushed hard to bring it down and felt strong and fast for the last half mile. While I was still 22 seconds away from a PR, I can tell a difference in my strength. My time was good enough for 3rd in my age group out of over 100. I’ll take that and call it a win.

3rd in 35-39 age group

3rd in 35-39 age group

This is the week before marathon training starts, so I’m enjoying activities that will get pushed aside for the next several months. I’m cutting down my miles – there will be plenty of those to come.

Have a great rest of the week!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Melon Dash 5k

What do you think?

