Reflecting and Back to School

I finished off week two of marathon training and started week three feeling pretty decent. Other than some soreness from the back to back to back medium length runs, I’ve been okay hanging on to the prescribed pace. Except for one track workout, the rest of the runs have been labeled “easy.” This is a relative term in August due to summer temps and humidity.

Monday (the first day of school and the start of training week three) changed my point of view. Most of the time, I plan to run early before I get the kids up for school, because it just works better that way for all of us. Scheduling this Monday morning didn’t allow it. In retrospect, Monday speed days were probably not the best plan, but I don’t see how I can move it around without jacking up the week’s schedule. Training is done in an order to teach your body to run on tired legs. Late Monday afternoon, after I caught up on first day stories, filled out obligatory back to school paperwork, and fed the kids, I headed out for my speed work. Since the track was occupied – football – I ran down to the park which is flatter than my neighborhood for 600m repeats.

No worries, I sweated it off by the end.

No worries, I sweated it off by the end.

I hit 2:47 on the first one, and it just went up from there.  My splits were all over the place ranging from the 2:47 to 3:03. It was 6 pm so I’ll blame the heat.

Metric makes me feel fast.

Metric makes me feel fast.

The next day was rest day, and my legs were sore. Even Wednesday, with another hard workout, I was still sore from the 600s when I got out of bed.

Wednesday’s run was hard. Warm up, then 6 miles at tempo (marathon pace) then cool down. Every bit of it was hard. It’s been a long time since I felt like throwing up from a workout, but this came close. My goal is to train for a 3:40 marathon, which is faster than my 3:45 Boston qualifying time. That makes my tempo pace 8:23. The 3:45 time has a pace of 8:34. This morning I ended up with 8:38 and I don’t think I could’ve been much faster. Since it’s August and I was still sore from Monday, I’ll keep trying. Tempo runs are on the plan every Wednesday, so I’ve got time to get it right.

Recovery is key right now, so I’m focusing on better post run nutrition starting with my trusty chocolate milk.

I needed a superhero before that run.

I needed a superhero before that run.

After the tough run, I took some advice from my daughter’s shirt:

Of course!

Of course!

 

Now, I’m past my 9 pm bedtime, so off I go!

Happy running!

2 thoughts on “Reflecting and Back to School

What do you think?

