Back to Training

I’ve been trying to pay attention to my body as I continue to recover from my plantar fasciitis injury. Beginning last Wednesday, those first painful steps in the morning were not as painful. I could almost walk normally straight out of bed. The morning hobble is disappearing, and I am holding my breath.

 

My plan for the Saturday long run was to try for a mile or two over what I ran the week before. So 8-9 was my plan. Our running group meets on Saturday mornings, and depending on who’s there and how I feel usually determines my pace. This week my running friend was out of town for a 5k, and the rest of the group was all guys most of whom are faster than me on their slow day. There are a few variations of the route that we run, and this time most everyone was going to do the 5 mile loop. As always, when running with people who are faster, I push myself more than I would on my own. Around the three mile mark, they took a break and waited on me where the turn is to go back or another route. I was grateful for the chance to catch my breath. All my miles were just under 9:00 pace. As we headed back, they continued various conversations while I listened and tried to slow my breathing. Topics ranged from a “beerathon” to DNA and evolution. At the end of the loop I continued around the park for another mile with one of the other runners to finish just over 6 miles – the fastest consecutive miles I’ve run since April 11. My foot was fine, but I didn’t want to push too hard. I felt like I was making progress and was on cloud nine for the rest of the morning.

IMG_5880Sunday I planned to ride my bike. I’m trying to limit the days I run to five per week, and then cross train the other two. Well, the outside bike ride didn’t happen. The first round of storms hit right after we got up. Heavy rain. Which was on top of the heavy rain we received Saturday (which was sitting on top of Thursday and Friday’s storms too) After we got home from church another round of rain moved through. My husband checked the radar, and it looked like it was one round after another. I gave up waiting on a thunder-free window and rode the stationary bike for an hour. Then I ran two miles on the treadmill to see what that felt like after the bike. As soon as I stepped off the treadmill – and I was very sweaty – the tornado sirens in town started going off. It was 3:25 pm. I huddled in the downstairs bathroom (currently under remodel) shower stall with our two youngest kids while my husband was on the deck as lookout. My kids were not happy about being trapped with me and my sweat. My 9 year old told me I smelled bad, and the 12 year old opened her container of yogurt for a better aroma. They love me so much! When the sirens stopped, I had enough time to run upstairs,dry off, and refill my Nuun before the sirens started up again. There was so much rain! When the third round of sirens went off, water started flooding in the bathroom. There was so much water under the house. I put one child on siren watch and started scooping up water with cups and towels. Eventually the rain stopped, but I ended up under the house helping my husband dump buckets of water out of the opening down the hill. My upper body muscles were aching and a few times I didn’t think I could lift another bucket. My husband said, “If you can run a marathon. You can do this.” At one point I became overwhelmed and started crying. He said, “Do you cry when you run a marathon.” Why yes, sometimes I do. We got the water low enough to manage, called it done, showered and went to eat. It was after 7:00 pm.

IMG_3928

Messy Mother’s Day

 

The next day every muscle in my body hurt – but my heel felt great!

After mowing Monday evening, I discovered that even though I was sore, I am getting stronger. The core work I’ve been doing the last few months is paying off. I decided to do my long run Tuesday morning since I’m running a 5k Saturday. This will be my first race since I took a break to heal my foot. It wasn’t a fast long run, but it’s the farthest I’ve run since my last half marathon.

IMG_3932
After all the activity the past few days, I feel like I’m training hard again. My quads and hamstrings are sore, my upper body is tense, and I pulled out my ice packs after my long run. I’m building up for my next half marathon in June, but remembering to be patient with my body. I was discharged from my Airrosti doctor today with instructions to call in the next few weeks if it doesn’t continue to improve, and to keep doing my balance and strength exercises. I’m hoping to see all this strength work pay huge dividends when I start marathon season.

 

One thought on “Back to Training

What do you think?

