Running for a Lifetime

I saw a video on Instagram Sunday morning that caught my attention. Today I realized it was one part of a string of stories from the last month that continue to inspire me. These are women runners, doing extraordinary things.

There was the podcast episode from Another Mother Runner where Dimity and Sarah are talking to the oldest finisher of the Boston Marathon, Katherine Beiers, who is 82. I dare you to listen to it and not be moved. There was also this article about her from Runner’s World.

Then I saw the news about the 92 year-old who became the oldest woman marathon finisher at the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Marathon in June. I am amazed by what she has accomplished. She is a cancer survivor, a member of Team in Training, and has run that race 16 times!

The most recent news was an Instagram video on the last finisher for the Western States 100. Ultra running intrigues me, but not in a “I want to try that” way. I had been following some of the coverage through social media. The cut off time for this 100 miler is 30 hours. The last finisher came in with six seconds to spare. That just blows my mind to cover that kind of mileage and time on your feet, but even more amazing to me was this woman’s age: 70. Wow.

Since treating and recovering from my plantar fasciitis injury, I have gained a new appreciation for just being out there. Speed is not as important as a pain-free run. I’m grateful to be able to do this. I’m more aware of not taking it for granted, and enjoying the everyday runs as much as the finish lines. I want to continue running for as long as I am able. No matter the distance.

In an age when our nation is increasingly sedentary and overweight, there are women out there doing some awesome feats of strength and endurance.  Age is just a number – don’t let it define you. Just get up and go.

Running really can be for a lifetime.

 

 

One thought on “Running for a Lifetime

  1. Preach! I always think of this whenever I’m getting a little twinge or I’m tempted to run through an injury. It’s not about the next race, it’s about running sustainably, for a lifetime.

What do you think?

