Marathon Training and My Plan

I made it through week one of marathon training and the first week of school. No one was late and we didn’t forget anything major, and I got all my planned miles in. The first few days of ironing out the routine were a little shaky, but I’d say the first week was a success.

I completed the outline of my training plan for the Dallas Marathon, and my weeks will be made up ofΒ 2 easy runs, 2 harder runs (1 speed, 1 other), and the long run. I threw in a cross training day too. This is different from what I’ve done in the past, where I’ve run for six days and taken one rest day. My mileage won’t be as high as it has been in the past either. Goal is to get to race day healthy and happy – and with my family still speaking to me. This is not the year for me to try to qualify for Boston. Physically, I’m not there. But also, this is my daughter’s senior year. There will be a lot going on this fall/winter and I want to be present. Not just in body, but my mind too. This is her year, not mine.

That being said, a sub 4:00 marathon is my goal. It is in reach, if I’m smart. That’s why I designed my training. I did the same thing two years ago, and ran my PR of 4:02:03 in Houston. I know my body and I know how I can push my limits – most of the time. Occasionally, I have surprised myself with a faster than I thought possible race. So this will do until the day I can justify spending money on a coach (see above high school senior – followed by two more siblings).

Last week, I had some pretty good training days. It was a nice mix, and I kept my easy days at slower pace. Mostly due to the humidity, but also because I want to be able to have good paces on the other days.

I threw in a hill day.

IMG_6316

Saturday’s long run was faster than I expected.

IMG_6324

The face of the watch doesn’t tell the whole story. My hips were sore from standing and working the concession stand at the football game Friday night. I only got 5 hours of sleep that night. I ran the first 5 miles with the group, and I was at the back of the pack running 9:20s. That was a blowΒ to my ego, but I had to remind myself that I was running farther and needed to do my pace. Then there were some slower miles with my running friend. I picked up for the last mile and a half at race pace. Overall, I’m pleased with how it went. It was the longest run I have had since the Wounded Warrior half in June.

I outlined the rest of my year by sprinkling in some races throughout my training plan. This is my tentative plan to get through December:

September 19th – local 5k – Sherman Autumn Arts Fest Run. This one I do every year. It’s a family event.

October 10th – Showdown half marathon in Fairview

October 25th – Monster Tri (?) in Denton – Why yes, I am still biking and swimming, just not as much as when I was training for my first tri.

November – This month is still up in the air. Last year I ran the Blue Red Run half marathon, which is exactly four weeks before the Dallas Marathon.Β I’ll see how the training goes as it gets closer.

December 6th – Rock ‘n Roll San Antonio half marathon – With Team Chocolate Milk! This is a taper week for me, and what better way to make sure I run easy than enjoying the scenery of a city I’ve never run. I will probably even take pictures at this one.

December 13th – Dallas Marathon! This will be the year for perfect running weather. πŸ˜‰ It’s long overdue.

I’m looking forward to my training and the races.

Do you have races planned out through the end of the year?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Marathon Training and My Plan

  1. Good luck with your preparations and up and coming races. I have one half marathon, 2 x 10 k’s (and a 5k colour run!) before the end of the year when my marathon training begins in earnest.

What do you think?

