70.3 Training: Week One

Last week I started my half Ironman training for Buffalo Springs Lake, and I ventured into uncharted territory.

I have never put my focus completely on training for a triathlon. I use the word “never” like I’ve been doing triathlon for years, but this journey started over a year ago with my first running injury. Cycling was a substitute, then a supplement, and it evolved into triathlon.

When I was trying to pick a plan a few weeks ago, I hit panic mode when I saw the quantity of workouts. They all pretty much follow the same format of three bikes, three swims, three runs weekly. I talked to a friend who assured me I wouldn’t be able to get it all in. “You’re a mom. You just do what you can.” That means I will run the miles scheduled even though I will crave more running. I will pay attention to my body and not push myself to injury point. I will take recovery seriously, and continue to hone my nutrition and eating patterns.

With last week being spring break, I lucked out in being able to get in the groove of training. I actually completed all the workouts. One child was gone from Tuesday through Sunday, and the other two went to visit grandparents from Wednesday through Saturday. So I was able to get my three bikes, three swims, and three runs done – guilt free. Some of those were two-a-days, which I know will not be possible on a weekly basis. None of the workouts were too long or too hard, but the quantity of work began to contribute to some soreness. It’s an adjustment for sure.

On a more positive note, I am eager to see how the increase in swimming and biking will enhance my fitness. Last summer when I trained for my first triathlon, I was surprised to see some definition in my arms and shoulders for the first time in my life. I am also hoping the change in training will help my metabolism and get this marathon weight gain off. It’s been hanging around far too long.

On Sunday, I will be running the Rock ‘n Roll Dallas with Team Chocolate Milk. This is one of my favorite races all year! I’m not going to adjust my triathlon training, so I will be running the half marathon on tired legs. I think that’s good practice for a half Ironman, don’t you?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “70.3 Training: Week One

What do you think?

