Setting the Right Goals for Me

As we came in from a run one evening last week, my ten year old asked me, “Your big goal is to qualify for Boston right?”

“Yes it is.”

“But you have some other goals too. Smaller goals like triathlon and Ironman. But the big one is Boston.”

Yes, smaller goals like Ironman. Ha ha!

But he’s still right.

In the past month, I’ve been thinking about the goals I have. There are the long-term goals and the ones I want to achieve right now. I’ve had to take a step back to make sure I’m working on what I want for me, and not a product of what’s great for someone else or what sounds like fun. It’s easy to get caught up in social media, or the hype around some races, medals, or challenges. Or even move on to the next big thing. Run a half marathon. Next up: marathon. Ran a marathon? Ultra. Half Ironman? Time to do a full Ironman. You know what I mean.

Not that it’s a bad thing.

But is it what you want?

Even though I finished a half Ironman this summer, the next step in my brain would be for me to do a full Ironman. But you know what? I’m not ready for that. I need a few more of those half distances to feel better about it, and the more I thought about it, the more I realized I didn’t have my heart there. Yet.

My heart is in running. It has been for the last six years. It has taken me to places I never would have imagined. I am part of a great community that supports each other whether you run a 6 minute mile or 12:00. And I love it!

So I’m keeping my focus on my passion.

My “right now” goals are working toward that sub 4 hour marathon, which will help me to reach the long term goal of qualifying for and running Boston. It will take some steps (years) to get there, but I have the heart to work on it.

Triathlon has been great for me. It keeps the running fire burning, and I am a better athlete. I will keep working at it, and I have fun doing it. It helps me to be a stronger runner, and gives me the break I need from mileage. I can see registering for a full Ironman one day.

But at this season of my life, I’m going to stick with my goals. One September, I’ll be submitting my registration for the Boston Marathon.

Now, I’m headed out to the gym for a swim. It’s great cross training for marathon season!

 

2 thoughts on “Setting the Right Goals for Me

What do you think?

