Dallas Training Continues

This past week wrapped up week 7 of 20 for Dallas Marathon training. It’s been a pretty good couple of weeks.

We had one of our largest Saturday groups (in week 6) that I’ve seen in the 5 years I’ve been a part of Texoma Runners:

A decent 16 mile run with some nice weather:

Week 7 included

a #RunforTexas 10k for Harvey relief:

A second 16 mile run with a good-sized group surrounding us the whole time:


 

It was nice to have so many with us as we went into the double digits, since usually it’s just my friend and I finishing our long run by ourselves (during marathon training). Because of the way this run worked out, we had an early group and a later group keep us company. πŸ™‚ The weather was absolutely wonderful for an early September run in Texas. We also had another runner join us for all of both 16 milers, as she is prepping for her first half next week. I think she’ll be ready.

I have been working on my fueling for long runs, and it looks like Ucan is going to be my go-to. I used it the last two weeks, as well as a few other times, and it seems to be working well. I also supplement my hydration/electrolytes with Nuun of course.

This coming Saturday is a local 5k. I would say it’s the biggest one all year. We have tried to figure out how we’re going to work in our 18 miler, but it looks like we’re going to abbreviate it and run the 5k in there somewhere. It won’t be the fastest I can run, but I need to look at the big picture. Marathon.

 

 

What do you think?

