Something New

This is a follow up to my last post on finding a race.  If you missed it, you can find it here.  I hope you were able to find a date and race that interests you.  Post a comment and let me know what race you’re doing and when. 

In my search for a 5 or 10K that would work with my schedule, I ran across something different that interested me.  The date of the race I decided upon is May 12th, two weeks after the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon.  I’m hoping my legs will be back in working order by then.  It was the distance that lured me in (and the fact that I’ve done other races put on by the same group).  This run is called the Five and Dime Run, which consists of a five mile or ten mile race.  These are new distances for me, which would mean instant PR, but I had trouble deciding which one to do.  As I was running my long run last Saturday morning (when I do my best thinking) I decided upon the five mile race.  It will be a good kick off of a few months of shorter races before I launch myself back into marathon training for the fall.

If you’re a more experienced runner looking for the challenge of running farther than a 5K come join me.  I’d love some company.  If you haven’t found a race yet, keep searching.  You’ll find one that interests you.

What do you think?

